Valuing Myself

Today, I forgot to feed me.

I got busy.

With projects.

Conversations.

Getting ready for work.

Going to work.

And then when I got home, realizing that it would just be me for dinner, I said the most ridiculous thing to myself.

“I’m not going to waste time cooking just for myself.”

It made me stop and think. Cooking for someone else is okay. Cooking for just me, a waste.

I’ve spent most of my life with a very negative view of myself. It has improved a lot in the past few years. Moments like this remind me how far I still have to go, and just how far I have come. I do remember a time when I wouldn’t have thought twice about a comment like that. But I am learning just who I am in Christ and how much He loves and values me. I’m still a mess. I still mess up big time. But if He saw enough value in me to give His life for me, well, maybe there is something to that.

Needless to say, I cooked myself a little dinner.

About Crystal

I am a disciple of Christ, writer, daughter, sister, aunt, friend, dog owner, and adventure lover.
This entry was posted in Inspiration, Life, NaBloPoMo, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Valuing Myself

  1. Bonnie says:

    Hope you set the table and used a cloth napkin….and know how special to all of us.

  2. I noticed that you said, “little” dinner. Now, next time, make it a “nice dinner.” ;D

Leave a Reply

