Revisiting November

Picture of Fireworks - Free Pictures - FreeFoto.com

Celebration time!

My month of challenges is over! So, I thought I would share a little about how I did with all that craziness, and a few of the things that I learned from my experiences.

First up, NaNoWriMo.

Sadly, there are not 50,000 words in my novel at this point. I can not say that I won this year. At least not officially. But while word count is definitely a consideration in a finished novel, it isn’t the most important thing. Telling a story is what it is all about. Last year, I wrote a silly story based out of one of my really random dreams. I was having fun, and getting the words on the page was super easy when I actually sat down at the computer. The story I chose this year has been hard in a lot of ways. It is very close to my heart, and my heart doesn’t like to share so much. So, I’m counting this challenge as a success. The words my be appearing on the page at a slower rate than desired, but they are getting there. And the finished product will be something I am proud of.

Second, 30 days of thanks.

A whole lot of people seemed annoyed with the abundance of thankfulness on their news feeds. I enjoyed every minute of it! Both writing down my own thanks, and reading all the others. I loved seeing people turn the hard things into something good, and finding things to be thankful for when life seemed to be going crazy. It definitely brought a change of perspective for me. I missed posting a few days, and I’m okay with that. There is always an abundance of things to be thankful for, and I do look forward to sharing some of those things in the future.

Last, and my favorite, NaBloPoMo.

By the numbers, I posted more than double in November than I did in the two previous years! No longer can I say that I have nothing to write about. Faced with a challenge, I found something. Lots of somethings. And I had so much fun doing it!

I didn’t finish any one of my challenges with a perfect record. A novel with a 50,000 word count eluded me. My Facebook has less than 30 posts of thankfulness. This blog has way less than 30 posts. By the numbers, I have failed. As a writer, I have succeeded. Sometimes, especially when your finances don’t depend on it, the hardest thing to do is sit yourself down at the computer and write. This month, that has happened on a more consistent basis than ever before. I have more confidence, and feel like I can tell a little bit better story.

Although I don’t plan on posting every day, I do plan on making this a habit.

Any ideas for a December challenge?

About Crystal

I am a disciple of Christ, writer, daughter, sister, aunt, friend, dog owner, and adventure lover.
This entry was posted in Inspiration, Life, NaBloPoMo, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

